Flute for Beginner.

Basics of Flute Playing, Tone Production and Fingerings, Using Metronomes, Scales, Tone, Studies, etc.

Moderators: Classitar, pied_piper, Phineas

qflute

Flute for Beginner.

Post by qflute »

Hi I'm new here. I'm a beginner at age 44. Right now I'm using my daughter's flute but I would like to buy a brand new flute for myself.

I need advice for which flute I should buy.

What is a good flute for a beginner ?

Any help / advice is welcome.

Thanks.

QFlute

Amateur_Flautist

Post by Amateur_Flautist »

I started out on a Pearl open hole, outset G, C foot joint, and it contributed to my being able to get an okay sound (for a beginner, of course) from the start. I suggest getting one of the major brands such as pearl, yamaha, or gemeinhardt. Whether or not you get a pro or beginner's is your decision. If you get an open holed one, I would keep all the plugs in for the first year or two and gradually start taking them out as you realize which fingers will allow you to. Also, outset G is better because it conforms to your hand better than inline, so that's usually a good idea, and a C foot joint comes in handy sometimes, but a B one will do just fine. The main thing is just to try out many different types and brands and make up your mind which ones you in particular think are best.
What's life without music?

H. Blanchard

Post by H. Blanchard »

I started out with a Gemeinhardt 2SP. A great beginner flute but if I could do it over again I would have gotten an open holed one.

makeajoyfulnoise

Post by makeajoyfulnoise »