Newbie.. Some questions needing to be answered ^_^

Basics of Flute Playing, Tone Production and Fingerings

Moderators: Classitar, pied_piper, Phineas

FluttiTutti

Newbie.. Some questions needing to be answered ^_^

Post by FluttiTutti »

Hi, I am new here! lol

I've been playing the flute for 4.5 years, and I'm a student. I think i use the Armstrong 104.. not sure tho. it says W.T. ARMSTRONG then below it, 104, below that some random numbers.

Questions:

1. Tell me about yourself! What flute do you use? Just some basic info
2. How do i acheive vibrato? (specifics please)
3. How can i train my breath so i have better support?
4. Why are some notes harder to play than others? (especially middle E flat, middle F, middle B flat, and middle C. I always "leak" and it goes down an octave a little. How do i prevent this?
5. What does "concert" [insert note here] mean?
6. Is there any way i can tune easier? I never know if i'm flat or sharp and i always am out of tune.. but i don't want to buy a tuner! :roll:
7. Do some brands of flutes work better than others? or does it depend on the person? (once i rented a flute and it was quite hard to play, since i wasn't used to it)
Ok probably more questions coming your way.. but for now, thats all! Sorry for all the questions and long post. ! Thanks!!! :D

CaperFlutist

Post by CaperFlutist »

I'm 29, played since I was 13. I play a Powell professional flute. I have a B.Mus and am interested in performance and theory mostly. I sing in a high level choir, play in a lot of concerts, teach flute, piano and voice and take organ lessons and want to become a church organist someday soon