Scales! Aargh Please Help ...

Alternate Fingerings, Scales, Tone, Studies, etc.

Moderators: Classitar, pied_piper, Phineas

x_flutebabe_x

Scales! Aargh Please Help ...

Post by x_flutebabe_x »

Hey how are we?
Well I am 13 and I'm currently studying for my 5th grade exam in November later this year and I am so fed up with scales! :evil:
It take me like half an hour to learn one off by heart perfectly but then a few minutes later of distraction and I go back to it- I've forgotten it!!!
Please Help...
Does anyone know any tips on how to memorise or learn scales effectively ?
Help is SO much appreciated
I thank you all.
xxx

Phineas

Post by Phineas »

Flutebabe

This is not going ot be a conventional way to do things, but here is a suggestion that may work for you.

The easiest way to memorize a pattern or a scale is to memorize the name of the notes, and the fingerings on the flute first. A lot of people get too stuck on reading, instead of REALLY getting to know their instrument. For example, if I tell you to play "C", you should be able to "C" anywhere with in the normal range from memory. Once you memorize all of your fingerings, then memorize the scales. Practicing the chromatics is a good place to start. Chromatics means you play every note up and down the flute

C-C#-D-D#-E-F-F#-G....etc....

Then memorize your scales.

C# - D# - E# - F# - G# - A# - B# = C# scale

G - A - B - C - D - E - F# = G scale

Etc....

Since you know where all of these notes are, now when you practice your scales, you can check yourself. The goal here is to make you think about the notes instead of the fingerings!

After you memorize the notes and all of the fingerings, it is just a matter of playing what you remember. The next step is to practice slowly. Always practice slowly. Before you know it, you will be zipping through your scales!