Should I quit?

For Anything and Everything to do with Flute Playing and Music

Moderators: Classitar, pied_piper, Phineas

exauror

Should I quit?

Post by exauror »

Hi everyone, I studied flute when I was 10 years old, now I'm 31 and thought it was a good idea to pick a flute and play. I brought a Yamaha 222 recently but I feel so demoralized. When I studied as a kid I could play just the first and maybe 2nd registers. Unfortunately, I can't afford any lessons at the moment. I am seriously frustrated about this situation.

Can you guys give me any advice? What should I do??

Thanks in advance.

Classitar

Re: Should I quit?

Post by Classitar »

Hi Exauror,

Why not play some simple melodies that you enjoy?
Given time - tone and technique can improve dramatically.

Phineas

Post by Phineas »

Hi Exauror,

Flute, or any woodwind instrument in general, tend to be "use it or lose part of it". This means if you do not pay often enough, you will have to build yourself back up. Another funny quirk is how practice seems to work. You work hard at practice with seeming little success. Then all of a sudden, almost overnight you play that difficult piece/exercise with ease. I have been playing over 30 years now. I still go through it.

Treat your "come back" like weight training. Start out with easier stuff and work your way back up. I used to tell my students to go to a sheet music website and find some of their favorite pop/rock/jazz tunes to learn. Then see if they can find a karaoke track to play with in the same key. If there is a specific advance chart they want to learn, just practice a few bars at a time until you can play it perfectly-ish, move to the next part of it, then try putting the smaller parts together over time. Also, if you can, find another musician to play with. Even if they play a different instrument. This will also help speed up your "comeback".