Piccolo Body Curved

Taking care of your instrument

Moderators: Classitar, pied_piper, Phineas

Skiddles

Piccolo Body Curved

Post by Skiddles »

Hello! This is my first post on this forum. I apologize in advanced, this post concerns my piccolo, not my flute.

I just finished my last day of band camp as a senior, I've been playing flute for 7 years now. My teacher has finally allowed me to march piccolo. Well... today we had our "end of band camp performace" thing we do every year and we had a mini stage set up for a piccolo duet in the song "Jump In the line".

Just to explain how this mini stage operates, it's literally 2 slabs of particle board with hinges attached, no locking mechanism, nothing. My sophomore year we used this stage and there was never any issues with it falling.

Well we set our piccolos on the stage as instructed and left to go back to the band room. We marched out and did our "pregame" and my band teacher called my friend and I up to check our piccolos for damage since the wind blew down the top part of the stage and slammed over our piccolos.

Her piccolo got the blunt of the damage, every single key being smashed down and bent, mine only had 3 key bends though I noticed my piccolo Body has a curve to it that's enever been there. I'm terrified it won't be able to be fixed since it's very sentimental to me. I don't have any pictures at the moment because my teacher is sending it in to be fixed. (no he is not charging my friend and I, thankfully)

Has anybody had this happen to them??? Any ideas on if my piccolo will be fine? Thank you for reading my post and I appericiate any feedback received!

pied_piper

Re: Piccolo Body Curved

Post by pied_piper »