Muramatsu EX and Mancke headjoint

Advanced Technique, Performance Questions, Auditions, Recording, etc.

Moderators: Classitar, pied_piper, Phineas

jemarch

Muramatsu EX and Mancke headjoint

Post by jemarch »

Hello people!
Wow, it's been ages I don't participate in the forum... like almost 10 years. Glad to be back :)

I just wanted to share my latest flute upgrade. Long story short, I started playing flute back in 2003 or 2004, after buying an atrocious second hand low-quality flute basically not knowing what I was doing. The teacher I got managed to adjust it so I could play minimally with it. Then I bought a new Jupiter student model (forgot which one) that served me well for the first couple of learning years. Then I upgraded to a Miyazawa pa 101, that I paid over a year in small payments. I was satisfied with the PA 101 (big difference from the Jupiter) until I found a second (or third, or fourth) hand Muramatsu EX matching all my preferences (in-line G, open holes, B foot) in a shop in Mountain View CA while I was on a business trip. This was 2015.

Oh man, how I fell in love with that flute. It couldn' t be compared with the poor Miyazawa... simply a completely different experience. The low register... my god. The fleeting feeling of the mechanism... damn. This is a first-generation EX manufactured back in 1994.

Fast forward to yesterday. I went to Freiburg in Germany (I live in Frankfurt) to Musik Bertram to see the Muramatsu technician for an overhaul of my EX. While I were there, I considered the possibility of upgrading my flute instead of doing the quite expensive overhaul. Time for a flute upgrade? So I spent the morning trying:

- A Muramatsu GX III with heavy walls
- A Sankyo 30x
- An Altus, forgot the model number, but in the same range of the others (solid silver headjoint, silver body, plated mechanism.)
- A Miyazawa 40x

What I was expecting: to really like the GX III, since I expected it to be like my EX, only better.
What happened: