Who actually made Armstrong’s last line of Heritage flutes?

Flute History and Instrument Purchase

Moderators: Classitar, pied_piper, Phineas

rob80b

Who actually made Armstrong’s last line of Heritage flutes?

Post by rob80b »

Back in 2010 I picked up a used Armstrong Heritage 60B flute…( https://www.fluteland.com/board/viewtopic.php?t=4027 ) totally aware that they were said to be only pale comparison of their former glory…and always assumed they were made in the orient.
I’ve been an amateur flutist since the 70s and sort of stuck with Armstrong along the way..100, 105, 80B, never quite a fan of the Gemeinhardts and found the 60B a fairly descent flute and comparable with the Powell Sonares at the time…back in the spring I was considering doing an overhaul but came across a seller with nos 61Bs at very silly prices, the solid silver upgrade from the 60B and jumped on that.

I regress…for what ever reason I was recently scrutinizing the build quality and noticed the spring catches were not your standard round pillar seen on almost all flutes…

..a little googling and only found these little rectangular catches on the Powell, Haynes and Brannen custom flutes…no where to be seen on any Orient mass produced or Japanese of origin.

Armstrong Heritage 60 and 61B
spring catch.JPG
spring catch.JPG (55.46 KiB) Viewed 18530 times
Powell Custom
Powell .png
Powell .png (234.69 KiB) Viewed 18530 times
Powell Custom.png
Powell Custom.png (154 KiB) Viewed 18530 times
so now I am questioning the last Armstrong Heritage line…"The new Heritage line has been developed with these goals in mind, offering great value and providing performance that is truly deserving of the Heritage legacy."…may all be wishful thinking but maybe they are not made where I assumed…unfortunately it’s almost impossible to find any further information….maybe someone else here may have some further insight.

Thanks

Robert
Last edited by rob80b on Fri Sep 28, 2018 9:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

rob80b