Bach Flute Sonatas

Specifics of Performing Flute Repertoire, such as Articulation, Phrasing, Tone, Tempo, etc.

Moderators: Classitar, pied_piper, Phineas

cflutist

Bach Flute Sonatas

Post by cflutist »

After I returned from my Master Class, I have a renewed love for the Bach Flute Sonatas which I studied back in the 1970s.

Could someone rank them in order of difficulty please?

Thanks

fluteguy18

Post by fluteguy18 »

From what I have gleaned from various professionals, the B minor and E minor tend to be the most technically challenging. The B minor is more of a "journey" piece, and the E Minor gets straight to the point. In terms of auditions, B Minor is played a bit more, but you get 'more bang for your buck with the E minor.' (that quote according to Bart Feller).

cflutist

Post by cflutist »

FG18,

Thanks for the info.

Just got a reponse from Patricia Harper which said:

There is nothing more wonderful than playing the Bach sonatas. Why don't you work on the E Minor Sonata and the G Minor ones. The E Minor is a continuo sonata with moving first and third movements. The second and fourth movements are technical, but I think with your level of technique you can do them. The G Minor is an obligato sonata. If you can find a pianist, then you can get a sense of how satisfying it is to play this chamber music work. Save the B Minor and the A Major sonatas (also obligato sonatas) until later. Pat

I guess she thinks the E minor is easier than the B minor or A Major.
One of the students did present the first movement of the B minor, which I really liked.

The Eb Major seems relatively easy, and I had studied the E major in the past with Paul Renzi.

BTW, Pahud's recording of the Complete Bach Flute Sonatas is fabulous.